0800 SCOUTS   Shop   Members

Lower North Island

Welcome to the Lower North Island Region (LNI)

The Lower North Island (LNI) Region extends from remote Hicks Bay on the East Coast to Mokau on the West Coast right down to Cook Strait. Our Region contains many of New Zealand’s strong Heartland provincial centres.

The Region is currently divided into eight Zones: Waiapu Zone covers the East Coast & Hawkes Bay; New Horizons Zone includes Wanganui city, rural townships such as Fielding and a large portion of the Central Plateau; Taranaki Zone from Mokau in the North to Patea in the South; Manawatu River Zone includes Palmerston North city and rural environs including the Bush area; Kapiti Zone includes the Kapiti Coast from Levin to and including Porirua City; Rimutaka Zone takes in Masterton, southern Wairarapa ribbon settlements and Upper Hutt City; Lower Hutt Zone includes Lower Hutt City and the Outdoor Education Centre at Brookfield in Wainuiomata; Wellington Zone our largest concentration of Scouts in the Region within Wellington City from Cook Strait to Tawa.

We have 100 Scout Groups including the 8 Rover Crews in the Region.

The Region also includes the Scout Lodge at Mt Ruapehu & the base of the National Scout Aviation School at Palmerston North and National Scout Canoe School’s playground the Whanganui River.

The LNI Regional Office and Service Centre is based in The National Scout Centre.  The LNI Regional Development Manager Jenny Rodgers can also be contacted via the Service Centre and emails linked below.

Regional Office and Service Centre:

1 Kaiwharawhara Road
Wellington 6035

PO Box 11348,
Manners Street
Wellington 6142


> lni@scouts.org.nz or > jenny@scouts.org.nz


0800 SCOUTS or P:(04) 815 8907


>> Click here to go to the LNI Facebook page