0800 SCOUTS   Shop   Members

Cubs Award Scheme

Cubs Award Scheme

Cub Badge

A Kea moving to Cubs or a new entrant needs to learn about the Cub Section.  The Cub Badge covers that introductory knowledge.

Bronze, Silver and Gold Levels

The award scheme is based on participating in activities and “learning by doing”.  It has three levels (Bronze, Silver and Gold) based on the programme cornerstones, each of which is made up of four sections. The Cornerstones are:

  • Outdoors,
  • Community,
  • Personal Development,
  • New Experiences.

To earn each level of the Core Award, Cubs need to complete:

  • Three activities in each of the sections of the “Outdoors”, “Community” and “Personal Development” cornerstones;
  • One activity in each section of the “New Experiences” cornerstone.

Outline of Cubs Award Scheme

The Cub Section Award Scheme is effectively a link between the Kea and Scout schemes.  It moves the emphasis from participation towards proficiency in skills and activities.

>> SCOUTS Direct - Cubs Award Book

>> SCOUTS Direct - Cubs Wall Chart  

>> SCOUTS Direct - Cubs Investiture Pack


>> Award Scheme - Cubs Leaders Manual

>> Rātā Cub Award application form